Bibliotheek (Centraal)

The first day I arrived to the Netherlands, I was told to go to the Amsterdam library (bibliotheek).

I wish I had gone then.

It took me about a week, but I finally made it. It is beautiful. It is white. It is extremely modern.

You can feel your skin in this place. Riding down the escalator is almost an out-of-body experience; yet, you can tuck yourself away in a corner with a window overlooking the city while you type away or read.

Bonus: The seventh floor has a nice cafeteria and the ground floor a coffee shop. One really could spend all opening hours in this place.

I haven’t figured out how to take photos in this space yet, so I’ll direct you to someone who has: http://www.flickr.com/photos/larswelin/6417852191/in/photostream/

Leave a Reply

